The prospect of fur

Foxb

Hi there - I just joined this forum, I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a fashion design student (I make menswear) in the UK and I have just started thinking about using fur in my designs. I'm going to be entering a fur design contest this year (and am including rabbit in my main collection). A lot of my peers don't agree with this. In fact, I am finding it a little distressing as one of the techniques I wish to use is fur knitting, which I am slowly developing the knack for (long, slow process!) but my knitwear tutor is so against fur that I daren't talk to her about it. I feel like I'm a little on my own with my newfound passion, even though I'm doing my very best to source fur responsibly.

Fur has stuck around in the UK, particularly in London (I'm in the north east, miles away... booo!) but it can really only be imported (except wild game skins, like deer, being a by product of the meat industry). This makes things expensive, though after an arduous slog I'm hoping I'm going to be able to source some decently priced pelts to work with soon. It's been a long, slow road!

I used to be very against fur. However, I did so much research into the subject and saw both sides of the argument, and now I am very keen to use it and to wear it (insight into its origins preferred). It scares me that peers and other people in the UK (well, and presumably all over the world, but there does appear to be a lot of vitriol here) can be so aggressive about fur use. I now think, 'how dare they try to take away something that people use for their livelihoods, and which I would like to use for mine, and which, in any case, should be a personal choice of use'.

Fur does seem to be becoming more popular again but it isn't without its difficulties and opposition. What are your thoughts on its prospects? I would be so upset if it got harder and harder to source skins.