Operating Systems [OS]

Guest OFF or Old Fur F##t

I'm no expert at this and there are many here much more qualified than me. I'm a true novice which is one reason I'm writing this.

As such however I thought it might be helpful to others who might want an option.

Early in my computer career which wasn't that long ago I discovered I had an acute allergy to one of my neighbors, Uncle Bill and the MS-OS aka Windows. I even had a computer built with two hard drives, one for Windows OS and one for a Linux OS. I chose Mandrake 8.2 at the time.

I have a very Linux savy Tech guy in Portland, a necessity for just about any novice, Windows or Llinux. Code writers read no further.

After just a month I discovered I was doing everything in Linux and hardly ever used my Windows 2000Pro. It wasn't intentional or anything like that. It was an annoyance issue. Since most of my time spent on the computer at the time was surfing the net it was no contest doing in in Linux or in Windows. I had GOOGLE on both.

The Windows was constantly down or locking up .. even with Anti-Virus software.

As I began to learn and use other functions and tasks the "compatibility" issue arose. I then recently upgraded to Mandriva 10.2 Rev. [the former Mandrake] and bregan to encoounter problems [maybe less so than some of my Windows friends] but things just weren't working perfectly smoothly and my Tech said it "had issues". Final confirmation that softwear is a sentient being.

I had done quite a bit of research in the interim and talked it over with my Tech. guy. There is the CodeWeavers option of floating a Windows "Lifeboat" I call it in Linux for Windows programs. One Linux OS does this for the whole of its operations. You see, linux is soooo much faster and takes up far less space than Windows.