Whats so ecological

auzmink

For those of us that trawl e-bays european sites I find it amazing that a fake fur on the Italian site is called 'pelliccia ecologica'.

Now, given the oil price issues, one could suggest a fake fur is anything but 'ecological' Anyone else see this as odd?

I welcome being corrected by my Italian friends if I have this wrong!

Auzmink.

I've made this point a number of times at the criminal nature of making things from petrochemicals. Especially when there are superior natural alternatives.

The average plastic bottle requires 1/3 its content in oil to make it. That doesn't take into account the environmental impact to get the oil. A point few make over their plastic lives.

I'm studying for my LEED exam now and even those that are fighting for more environmentally benign buildings don't fully GET IT!

OFF

OFF, what bugs me is the name 'ecological', applied to fake fur. 'Faux' or 'false' translated into italian fine, but 'ecological' !!!!!

Beggers belief..

Auzmink

So, Auzmink, is that pelliccia ecologica a term commonly used by sellers or is it an official eBay italia label?

If it's individual sellers, it's understandable. They want to get rid of what they're selling and they want cash. If they can boost its image in the eyes of buyers, they'll more quickly get what they want. Sort of like the seller of something that should have been listed as craft cutter who says that the cracks in the pelts are hardly noticeable and easily repaired anyway.

Otherwise, if it's an official way of designating foe fur ... oh well.

frugalfurrealnotfauxguy

FFG - don't know is the answer. Given that everywhere you shop these days 'organic' or 'green' seems to be on most labels maybe 'ecological' is the new label. Still grates though.

Auzmink

I think that very few people really understand what it means to be "ecological" or "environmentally friendly."